Fri. Sep 22nd, 2023

The Nasarawa State House of Assembly has constituted the chairmen, members and secretaries of its 24 standing committees to conduct the legislature’s affairs.

The speaker of the House, Ibrahim Abdullahi, who unveiled the committees’ members in Lafia on Monday, urged them to discharge their duties without fear or favour.

The speaker also urged the committee members not to compromise while performing their oversight functions.

“I urge you to live above board while discharging your duties,” said the speaker. “We must protect the integrity of this institution by ensuring that the right things are done for the advantage of our people.”

He said the rules and business committee is to be chaired by Daniel Ogazi, the judiciary committee is to be headed by Esson Mairiga, and the women affairs by Hajara Danyaro.

The public complaints and petition committee is to be chaired by Luka Iliya Zhekaba, the minority leader of the house, while Danladi Jatau, the deputy majority leader, heads the education committee.

Mohammed Isimbabi is to chair the youth and sports committee, while housing and environment is to be chaired by Mohammed Omadefu, the majority leader of the house.

Similarly, the committee on Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) is to be chaired by Onarigu Onah Kana, committee on local government and chieftaincy affairs by Musa Ibrahim Abu, the Nasarawa State Independent Electoral Commission (NASIEC) is to be headed by Jacob Kudu.

Others are the committee on works and transport to be chaired by Suleiman Yakubu Azara; information committee chaired by John Ali; finance and appropriation is to be chaired by Hudu A. Hudu; the chairman, house committee on land is Emmanuel Manding.

Solomon Akwashiki is to chair the committee on public account; Larry Ven Bawa is to chair the health committee; Musa Gude is to chair the Nasarawa State Urban Development Board (NUDB).

Furthermore, the agriculture committee is to be chaired by Peter Akwe, Ovey John is to chair the water resources committee, and Mohammed Onyaki will chair the capital market, commerce and Industry committee.

The house welfare committee chairman is Aliyu  Chunbaya; the committee on Pilgrims is to be chaired by Ibrahim Aliyu-Nana; projects monitoring is to be headed by Deputy Speaker Abel Bala; and the selection and appointments committee is to be chaired by Ibrahim Abdullahi, the house speaker.

The speaker further urged them to start preparing for their various oversight functions to assess the level of the 2023 budget performance of ministries, departments and agencies (MDAs).


Source link

By ashik

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *