Wednesday, February 21, 2024
Google search engine
HomeentertainmentAPC’s Mustapha Wins Yobe East Senatorial By-election

APC’s Mustapha Wins Yobe East Senatorial By-election [See Result]

Date: February 21, 2024 Time: 12:20 am

Date: February 21, 2024 12:20 am

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, on Sunday declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Musa Mustapha, as winner of the Yobe East senatorial by-election.

The Deputy Vice Chancellor, Administration, Federal University Gashua, FUGA, Ibrahim Ahmed Jajere, the Returning Officer, announced that Mustapha scored the highest number of votes.

Jajere said the APC candidate polled 68,778 votes to defeat his closest rival, Aji Kolomi, of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, who scored 18,878 votes.

The Returning Officer stated that the total number of votes cast were 90,949, with valid votes cast being 88,771, while 2,178 votes were rejected.

“I, Associate Professor Ibrahim Ahmed Jajere, hereby certify that I am the Returning Officer for the 2024 Yobe East Senatorial By-election held on February 3th.

“The election was contested and Musa Mustapha of APC polled 68,778; Aji Kolomi of PDP scored 18,878.

“That Musa Mustapha of APC having satisfied the requirements of the law is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected,” he said.

Mustapha, popularly known as Coolers, was the immediate past Commissioner for Finance in Yobe State.

He will replace Senator Ibrahim Geidam, who is currently the Minister of Police Affairs.

The full results of the election are as follows:

1) Bursari LG

*APC – 9,466

*PDP – 2,752

2) Damaturu LG

*APC – 11,941

*PDP – 6,693

3) Geidam LG

*APC – 6,621

*PDP – 2,310

4) Gujba LG

*APC – 11,529

*PDP – 3,037

5) Gulani LG

*APC – 12,516

*PDP – 2,198

6) Tarmuwa LG

*APC – 5,557

*PDP – 1,054

7) Yunusari LG

*APC – 11,148

*PDP – 834

Meanwhile, the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, has won the re-run election conducted by INEC at Shoye Garin Abba, in Balde Polling Unit 001, in Fika Local Government Area, for the Fune/Fika Federal Constituency.

Out of the total number of votes cast, PDP polled 93, while APC did not get any vote.

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Most Popular

Recent Comments